Home Page
'Caring, Learning, Succeeding Together'

Local Governor biographies

Chair of Governors
James Maton

A Director of Spiral Partnership Trust, James is the Chair of the Junior School LGB having first been involved with the schools as an Infant Parent Governor; he has a daughter at the school.  He is a Partner in an international law firm, specialising in disputes and investigations.  

Parent Governors
Adrian Wood

A co-opted parent governor whose two children currently attend the Trust's schools, Adrian is an economics graduate and is now a banker experienced in sales, marketing, business management, change and product management and also has experience in HR. 

Term of office: to  2/12/2018

Bernadette Lee

A co-opted parent governor Involved with both Fleetville schools for over 15 years and a daughter currently at the junior school, Bernadette is a former deputy head-teacher and currently co-owns a local nursery.  She has expertise in financial management, HR and legal compliance applied within an educational setting.  Bernadette is joint Vice-Chair of the LGB as well as being the SEN link governor.

Term of office: to 2/12/2018

Co-opted Governors

Andrew Davies

A co-opted governor whose three children have all attended the Trust's schools, Andrew is a barrister and county court judge. 

Term of office: to 20/9/2018

Kate Ivers

A co-opted governor, Catherine is a qualified accountant with over 20 years experience in public finance and holds a post-graduate diploma in public finance and leadership.  Kate is joint Vice-Chair of the LGB.

Term of office: to 2/12/2018

Arti Kumar

A co-opted governor with past experience of providing careers education in Hertfordshire schools and colleges, Arti retired as Associate Director of the Centre for Excellence in Teaching & Learning at the University of Bedfordshire.  She worked with staff across all faculties to integrate personal and professional development for students within a revised institutional curriculum.  The SOAR model she has authored is being widely used to develop graduate-level employability skills and attributes.  She is a National Teaching Fellow and AGCAS Lifetime Achievement Award winner.

Term of office: to 27/4/2020

Kavya Anderson-Tuffnell

An experienced HR consultant, Kavya is a specialist in generalist HR matters and brings with her over a decades worth of experience.  Throughout her career, Kavya has advised organisations on how best to manage employee performance, sickness absence and dismissals.  She is used to acting with tact and discretion on sensitive matters.  Since completing her Masters in Personnel & Development, Kavya has been committed to her on-going professional development with a focus on diversity and employment law.  Having worked across a variety of sectors including education, technology, property management and banking Kavya joined the LGB as she was excited by the prospect of helping the school in achieving its goals.  Outside of work, Kavya is passionate about movies and travel plus spending time with her family.

Term of office: to 06/09/2020

Staff Governors
Androulla Peek
As Headteacher, Androulla is a Director of the Spiral Partnership Trust and sits on all committees.
Elaine Bridle

A staff governor and Deputy Headteacher, Elaine has taught at Fleetville Junior School for many years.  In addition to her leadership role, she is the school's SENCo. 

Leann Avery

A staff governor, Leann currently teaches part-time in Year 3.

Term of office: to 24/5/20


  • Fleetville Junior School
  • 228 Hatfield Road, St Albans, Hertfordshire, AL1 4LW
  • T: 01727 855134 E: